Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Southeastern Conference represented in Maxwell Watch List

image With 60 days left until the 2011 College Football Season (finally) kicks off, the list season is well under way. For your browsing and arguing pleasure over the next eight Saturdays, here’s the watch list for the Maxwell Award.

The Maxwell Award (much like the Heisman) is given to the player voted to be the best in college football by a panel of sports journalists, coaches and the Maxwell Football Club.

Unless I’m missing a sore thumb, there are 11 players from SEC schools on the preseason watch list. While that’s not a bad representation, there are some glaring holes. LSU doesn’t have anyone worth watching? Or Florida?

SEC players are shown with emphasis.

And every one of these players are offensive skill positions. What about defensive skill positions? No Defensive Backs or Linebackers?

Fodder for discussion.

Edwin Baker Michigan State RB Jr.
Montee Ball Wisconsin RB Jr.
Vick Ballard Mississippi State RB Sr.
Matt Barkley USC QB Jr.
Justin Blackmon Oklahoma State WR Jr.
Tyler Bray Tennessee QB Soph.
Ryan Broyles Oklahoma WR Sr.
Greg Childs Arkansas QB Sr.
Marcus Coker Iowa RB Soph.
Zach Collaros Cincinnati QB Sr.
Kirk Cousins Michigan State QB Sr.
Juron Criner Arizona WR Sr.
Dayne Crist Notre Dame QB Sr.
Dominique Davis East Carolina QB Sr.
Knile Davis Arkansas RB Jr.
Michael Dyer Auburn RB Soph.
Andre Ellington Clemson RB Jr.
Michael Floyd Notre Dame WR Sr.
Nick Foles Arizona QB Sr.
Johnathan Franklin UCLA RB Jr.
Jeff Fuller Texas A&M WR Sr.
Stephen Garcia South Carolina QB Sr.
Mike Glennon NC State QB Jr.
Ray Graham Pittsburgh RB Jr.
Cyrus Gray Texas A&M RB Sr.
Robert Griffin Baylor QB Jr.
Chandler Harnish Northern Illinois QB Sr.
Montel Harris Boston College RB Sr.
Jared Hassin Army RB Jr.
Ronnie Hillman San Diego State RB Soph.
LaMichael James Oregon RB Jr.
Alshon Jeffery South Carolina WR Jr.
Damaris Johnson Tulsa WR Sr
Landry Jones Oklahoma QB Jr.
Case Keenum Houston QB Sr.
Marcus Lattimore South Carolina RB Soph.
Ryan Lindley San Diego State QB Sr.
Zach Line SMU RB Jr.
Andrew Luck Stanford QB Jr.
E.J. Manuel Florida State QB Jr.
Doug Martin Boise State RB Sr.
Taylor Martinez Nebraska QB Soph.
Bryant Moniz Hawaii QB Sr.
Kellen Moore Boise State QB Sr.
Aaron Murray Georgia QB Soph.
Danny O'Brien Maryland QB Soph.
Isaiah Pead Cincinnati RB Sr.
Dan Persa Northwestern QB Sr.
Chris Polk Washington RB Jr.
Tauren Poole Tennessee RB Sr.
Bobby Rainey Western Kentucky RB Sr.
Trent Richardson Alabama RB Jr.
Denard Robinson Michigan QB Jr.
Nathan Scheelhaase Illinois QB Soph.
Geno Smith West Virginia QB Jr.
Rodney Stewart Colorado RB Sr.
Ryan Tannehill Texas A&M QB Sr.
Stepfan Taylor Stanford RB Jr.
Darron Thomas Oregon QB Jr.
Brandon Weeden Oklahoma State QB Sr.
Ed Wesley TCU RB Jr.
James White Wisconsin RB Soph.
David Wilson Virginia Tech RB Jr.
Russell Wilson Wisconsin QB Sr.
Tyler Wilson Arkansas QB Jr.
Robert Woods USC WR Soph.

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook.



Post a Comment

You must have a Google Account to post a comment.

WARNING: Posting on this blog is a privilege. You have no First Amendment rights here. I am the sole, supreme and benevolent dictator. This blog commenting system also has a patented Dumbass Detector. Don't set it off.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.