Thursday, June 30, 2011

SEC AD’s snub Cam Newton, award Athlete of the Year to a Tennis Player

imageQuestion: Why didn’t Cam Newton win the SEC Male Athlete of the Year Award?

Answer: Because only amateur athletes are eligible for it!

[rim shot]

Helmet rap to @TideFanAtlanta for the joke.

 Via the “Auburn Bureau.” In a move reminiscent of the SEC Football Coaches voting Steve Spurrier Coach of the Year, the conference’s Athletic Directors have awarded the SEC Male Athlete of the Year Award to John-Patrick Smith, a Senior Tennis Player from the University of Tennessee.

As Charles Goldberg points out, this is the first time that an SEC player who won the Heisman Trophy was NOT also named MAOTY.

Is it an intentional snub of the SEC’s most prolific—and most controversial—football player?

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook.


Post a Comment

You must have a Google Account to post a comment.

WARNING: Posting on this blog is a privilege. You have no First Amendment rights here. I am the sole, supreme and benevolent dictator. This blog commenting system also has a patented Dumbass Detector. Don't set it off.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.